The Sheikh Rises in Round 2 at Sepang Drag Battle

Published on May 7th, 2012

Sheikh Mohd Salimee Mohd Fowzi – the Sheikh of Drag Racing and defending champion in the premier class of Sepang Drag Battle – turned on his power at Sepang Circuit on Saturday night in Round 2 of the series to put his championship bid back on track.

Foiled by a broken oil seal in the opening round on March 31, Sheikh Mohd Salimee had a perfect outing on May 5 as his rivals found no answer to the speed and acceleration of his awesome Nissan 180SX and his slick driving as the defending champion of Class A collected five precious championship points; putting him as joint leader in that open category with Tan Wai Loong – winner of the opening round.

Convincingly beating Mohd Zaidi Amzah in the semi-finals, Sheikh Mohd Salimee simply blazed through the 405-meter stretch in 9.710 seconds; recording a top speed of259.55kmph to overcome the challenge of seasoned racer Suzaimi Ahmad, who took10.207 seconds to cover the distance.

Like Sheikh Mohd Salimee in the opening round, it was Tan’s turn to be struck by poor luck this time round after his Mitsubishi Evo 3 encountered exhaust problems in his semi-final run against Suzaimi. He did not even managed to start to fight for third placing; and had to be contend with just one point to join Sheikh Mohd Salimee on a total haul of six championship points.

Suzaimi, who was third in Round 1, is third in the overall standings with five championship points; with three more rounds to go.

A total of 87 entries registered for Round 2 with Class D for cars up to 2000ccengine capacity with turbo street front wheel drive recording the highest entry with 26 entries. Class C, which grouped two-wheel drive natural aspirated cars with engines up to 2000cc, attracted 17 entries while Class B for two-wheel drive cars with a single forced induction, had 15 entries.

The open category in Class A had 10 entries while the sub-1000cc compact cars category was competed by nine entries. Class F, for sub-2000cc non V-tech engine cars, had 13 entries.

Where Tan had failed to accomplish, Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder and Nur Faizun Nazri succeeded in Round 2 as the duo scored their second victory of the season as they won Class C and F respectively. In fact, Nur Faizun again scored a double victory as he also topped Class F for the second successive round.

Mohd Iqbal, who beat his younger brother Mohd Iqram to win Round 1, was again simply a class above his rivals as he topped as early as the preliminary runs with a best time of 11.853 seconds in his Honda CRX machine.

Any chances of a rematch against his sibling, however, evaporated as early as the preliminaries as Iqbal had a nightmarish round after he was disqualified in both his preliminary runs for jumpstarts on both occasions.

Instead, it was Ikhmy Adzwan Jamuri who rose to the challenge; passing through the stages until he was beaten in the final run by Iqbal, who recorded a time of 11.909 seconds against Ikmy’s 11.984 seconds in his Honda Civic.

With two wins, Iqbal now take control of in the championship battle for the classwith 10 points.

For Nur Faizun, victory in Class D was handed on a silver platter to him after his challenger in the final run, Muhammad Ridzuan Ahmad withdrew in the final run with mechanical problems as he was preparing for ultimate contest.

Driving a Honda Civic, Nur Faizun had earlier edged out Ismarizan Ishak’s Proton Satria in a tight semi-final contest while Muhammad Ridzuan’s Honda Civic won comfortably against Khairul Anwar, who drove a Proton Satria.

In winning Class F in making a double victory for Round 2, Nur Faizun topped the non V-tech 2000cc engine category in his powerful Honda CRX machine; beating Gan Kim Koa and his Honda EP machine in the final run. Zulkifli Zainal Abidin was third in another Honda CRX machine.

In Class B for the two-wheel drive cars with limited forced induction, Chua Soon Chuan topped the contest in his Honda machine; defeating Khairul Anwar Ahmad inthe final. Muhammad Ridzuan Ahmad took third placing; winning by default after Ahmad Firdaus Azman withdrew with mechanical problems.

In the battle of the compact cars in Class E, Mohd Nasir Abdul Aziz took victory for Round 2 in his Perodua Kancil with Mohd Afizi Abdullah, in another Perodua Kancil, taking second. Round 1 winner, Hamdani Abdul Ghani had to be contended with only a single point after finishing fourth; losing to Azery Mohd Norzaliin the contest for third placing.

First organized in 2003 as a club event for members of Sepang Circuit MotorsportsClub, the event was upgraded to national level in 2005 with participants requiring to hold racing license from either Automobile Association of Malaysia(AAM) or Motorsport Association of Malaysia (MAM).

Round 3 will be held on June 23.

SepangDrag Battle 2012

Round2 – Results

Class A (Open category/no limit engine capacity)

Sheikh Mohd Salimee Mohd Fowzi (Nissan 180SX)

Suzaimi Ahmad (Daihatsu Charade)

Mohamad Zaidi Amzah (Proton Wira)

Tan Wai Loong (Mitsubishi Evo 3)

Class B (2-wheeldrive limited forced induction category/no limit engine capacity)

Chua Soon Chuan (Honda)

Khairul Anwar Ahmad (Proton Satria)

Muhammad Ridzuan Ahmad (Honda Civic)

Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic)

Class C (2-wheeldrive natural aspirated category/engines up to 2000cc)

Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder (Honda CRX)

Ikmy Adzwan Jamuri (Honda Civic)

Hairul Izane MohamadAshror (Honda CRX)

Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic)

Class D (Turbostreet front wheel drive category/engines 2000cc and below)

NurFaizun Nasri (Honda Civic)

Muhammad Ridzuan Ahmad(Honda Civic)

Khairul Anwar (ProtonSatria)

Ismarizan Ishak (ProtonSatria)

Class E (K-car category/engines 1000cc and below)

Mohd Nazir Abdul Aziz (Perodua Kancil)

Mohd Afizi Abdullah (Perodua Kancil)

Azery Mohd Norzali (Perodua Kancil)

Hamdani Abdul Ghani (Perodua Kelisa)

Class F (Non VTec category/engines below 2000cc)

NurFaizun Nasri (Honda CRX)

Gan Kim Koa (Honda EP)

Zulkifli ZainalAbidin (Honda CRX)

Ahmad Firdaus Azman(Proton Satria)

words & pix: SIC


  1. Posted by las artes on May 10th, 2012, 20:27

    With two wins, Iqbal now takes control of in the championship battle for the class with 10 points.


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2