Sheikh wins Round 4 to take overall lead

Published on November 1st, 2010

Sheikh Mohd Salimee took his second successive victory at Sepang Drag Battle; winning Round 4 at Sepang Circuit and collecting five precious championship points to thrust himself to the top of the championship standings for Class A.

Driving his trusted Nissan Skyline, the Sheikh was no match against his rivals; finishing off Mohamad Zaidi Amzah in dominating fashion in the final run as he clocked an impressive 9.680 seconds to blaze through the circuit’s 400-meter straight.

Zaidi, who was driving a fully modified Proton Wira machine, took 14.398 seconds to complete the test and earn himself three championship points and now moved to joint third with Suzaini Ahmad with five points. Suzaini, who finished third for the round, added another two points on the night.

On a night of clear skies and beautiful weather, some 3,000 fans attended the race, which started off at 7pm on Saturday night; but finishing off way past midnight as they were entertained to a showcase of blazing speed and roaring machines spitting fire.

Unlike Sheikh, Mohd Amirullah Mohd Ali was unable to maintain his winning streak in the battle of Class B after his Proton Satria lost the final run to Mohd Ainul Mohd Aini’s Mazda machine in a tight battle to the finishing line. While his rival took 11.310 seconds, Amirullah came in after 11.310 seconds.

Winning second and three championship points, however, allowed Amirullah to stay at the top of the championship standings with 13 points; though he would have Ainul breathing on his neck with just one point separating the two drivers and a round to go.

The final round would be held on November 20 at Sepang Circuit and Amirullah – winner of Round 1 and 3 – knows that he would need his Mazda machine working at his best to win the coveted crown.

The stage for Class C has been set for a final showdown between Ahmad Firdaus Azman and Mohd Maziz Abdullah as they would enter the final round with just a point separating them after four rounds. Maziz took the fight to Firdaus after taking Round 4 and five championship points to take his total haul to 11.

Ahmad Firdaus – winner of Round 2 and second-placed for Round 1 and 3 – had a poor Round 4 after he lost his quarterfinal run against Ikmy Adwan Jamuri; forcing him to pack early and returned home empty-handed. However, he stays as the championship leader with 11 points.

The battle for Class G for turbo-engined street legal cars was won by Khairul Anwar Ahmad, who defeated Nor Faizun Nasri in the final.

The V-tec engine street legal cars category was topped by Mohd Iqram Ismail Tajinder while the non V-Tec category was won by Azri Abdullah Safian.




(open category – turbo,supercharged & NOS allowed)

1.Sheikh Mohd Salimee (Nissan Skyline)                     05 pts

2. Mohamad Zaidi Amzah (Proton Wira)                     03

3. Suzaimi Ahmad (Daihatsu Mirage)                           02


(two-wheel drive with no limit on engine capacity and only either turbo, supercharged or NOS allowed)

1.Mohd Ainul Azri (Proton Satria)                                  05 pts

2. Mohd Amirullah Mohd Ali (Mazda)                           03

3. Jamsari Jahaya (Nissan Silvia)                                   02


(Naturally Aspirated engines up to 2000cc and NOS not allowed)

1.Mohd Maziz Abdullah (Honda EK)                             05 pts

2. Mohd Iqram Ismail Tajinder (Honda)                      03

3. Nur Faizun Nasri (Honda Civic)                                 02


(Turbo engines Street Legal Machines)

1.Khairul Anwar Ahmad (Proton Satria)                     05 pts

2. Nor Faizun Nasri (Honda Prelude)                           03

3. Ahmad Firdaus (Proton Wira)                                    02


(V-Tec Street Legal Machines up to 2000cc)

1.Mohd Iqram Ismail Tajinder (Honda)                       05 pts

2. Mohd Hanapi Ismail (Honda Civic)                          03

3. Ahmad Firdaus (Honda)                                               02


(Non V-Tec Street Legal Machines up to 2000cc)

1.Azri Abdullah Safian (Proton Satria)                         05 pts

2. Kalaichelvan Govindapillai (Proton Satria)            03

3. Shahrulnizam Mohd Sain (Nissan)                           02




1.Sheikh Mohd Salimee (Nissan Skyline)                   10 pts

2. Tan Chun Li (Mitsubishi Evo 9)                                08 pts

3. Suzaini Ahmad (Daihatsu Mirage)                           05

4. Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Mitsubishi Evo)                05

5. Mohd Shahril Dhari (Proton Satria)                         04


1.Mohd Amirullah Mohd Ali (Mazda)                          13 pts

2. Mohd Ainul Azri (Proton Satria)                                12

3. Mohd Syukri Mohd Nor (Proton Satria)                   04

4. Shahril Azuar Mustafa (Nissan Silvia)                     03

5. Mohd Fadhil Othman (Proton Satria)                      03


1.Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic)                     11 pts

2. Mohd Maziz Abdullah (Honda)                                10

3. Nurfaizun Nasri (Honda Civic)                                  06

4. Aloysius Wee Chin Kwang (Honda CRX)               05

5. Mohd Hanafi Ismail (Honda Civic)                          04

words & pix: SIC



Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2