SEPANG DRAG BATTLE 2013 – ROUND 1: Looking At 80 Entries for Opening Round this Saturday

Published on April 5th, 2013

The new season for Sepang Drag Battle – Malaysia’s premier drag racing event and sanctioned by the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) – opens this Saturday with Round 1 with an expected entry of some 80 cars from all over the Peninsular.

“We should have between 70 to 80 cars this Saturday with all the champions expected to return in defending their titles. But, I truly hope to see some newcomers as well as this is very important for this event to grow further.

“We are applying the same rules as per last year to make it easier and less costly for the competitors. So, like last year, we will be running six categories of competitions and for five rounds,” says project manager Fazli Mukhtar.

After the opening round this Saturday (6 April), the series would be followed by the second round on May 11 and Round 3 on June 13. The penultimate round will be held on September 7 before the final round of the season on November 23.

“For the opening round, our registration counter will be opened this Saturday from 4pm to 6pm at the paddock entrance of the circuit; with the first free practice run scheduled at 7pm. Briefing for the competitors is held at 8pm at the Media Centre,” Fazli added.


Competing in his second season , Nur Faizun Nasri of Kuala Lumpur was the undisputed King of Sepang Drag Battle as he swept three of the six overall titles including a perfect score of five wins in Class F for two-liter cars in the non V-Tec category.

His two other overall titles are for Class B for 2-wheel drive cars with limited forced induction category and with no limit engine capacity; and Class D for front-wheel drive cars with turbo engine of 2000cc and below.

The premier Class A or the open category was again topped by defending champion Sheikh Mohd Salimee Mohd Fowzy while seasoned campaigner Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder took top honours in Class C for the two-wheel drive natural aspirated two-liter cars. Class E for the sub-1000cc compact cars was topped by Hamdani Abdul Ghani.

First organized in 2003 as a club event for members of Sepang Circuit Motorsports Club, Sepang Drag Battle is the only drag racing event sanctioned by AAM, which is Malaysia’s governing body for motorsports. It was upgraded to national level in 2005 with participants requiring to have a racing license from AAM or Motorsport Association of Malaysia (MAM).


Round 1 – 6 April 2012

Round 2 – 11 May 2013

Round 3 – 15 June 2013

Round 4 – 7 September 2013

Round 5 – 23 November 2013


Class A

(Open category/no limit engine capacity)

1.Sheikh Mohd Salimee Mohd Fowzi (Nissan 180SX) 16 pts

2. Muhamad Zaidi Amzah (Proton Wira) 13 pts

3. Tai Wai Loong (Mitsubishi Evo) 9pts

Class B

(2-wheel drive limited forced induction category/no limit engine capacity)

1.Nur Faizun Nasri (Honda Civic) 13 pts

2. Mohd Syukri Mohd Noor (Proton Satria) 11 pts

3. Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic) 11 pts

Class C

(2-wheel drive natural aspirated category/engines up to 2000cc)

1.Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder (Honda CRX) 15 pts

2. Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic) 12 pts

3. Ikmy Adzwan Jamuri (Honda Civic) 6 pts

Class D

(Turbo front wheel drive category/engines 2000cc and below)

1.Nur Faizun Nasri (Honda Civic) 15 pts

2.Khairul Anwar (Proton Satria) 8 pts

3. Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder (Proton Satria) 7 pts

Class E

(K-car category/engines 1000cc and below)

1.Hamdani Abdul Ghani (Perodua Kelisa) 12 pts

2. Mohd Aniz Aizaq (Perodua Kancil) 10 pts

3. Azery Mohd Norzali (Perodua Kancil) 10 pts

Class F

(Non V-Tec category/engines below 2000cc)

1.Nur Faizun Nasri (Honda CRX) 25 pts

2. Khairul Asri Mohd Sani (Nissan Sentra) 8 pts

3. Azry Mohd Norzali (Proton Satria) 6 pts

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2