Published on March 21st, 2011

Third overall in Class C last year, Ikmy Adzwan Jamuri made an awesome start for the new season of Malaysia’s premier drag racing event – Sepang Drag Battle in his Honda Civic as he swept aside his rivals at the opening round at Sepang Circuit last Saturday night.

In making it a more memorable night for him and his brigade of supporters, Ikmy also topped in the battle of non V-tech engines cars in Class F for a double victory; putting him firmly on the driving seat for the overall title this season.

“I am happy to score two wins tonight and hopefully, I can continue this form in the upcoming rounds of the series and finishing the season as the overall champion this time round,” Ikmy said after the prize presentation ceremony,

Putting together two-wheel drive natural aspirated cars up to 2,000cc, Ikmy squared off with Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder in the final run for Class C; beating his rival with a time of 12.661 seconds in the 402-meter dash. In his other final for street legal cars with non V-tech engines, Ikmy defeated Mohd Tuah Kamaruddin.

Beaten in final of Class C, Mohd Iqbal, however, bounced back to win the other Class F category for street legal cars win V-tech engines when he defeated Khairul Anwar Ahmad. Iqbal’s brother took third place; beating off Mohamad Junaidy Hamid in the third placing contest.

Like Ikmy, Suzaini Ahmad – third overall winner last year – opened the 2011 season in fantastic fashion; winning the open class A. Suzaini Ahmad drove a blazing 10.985 seconds to win the final run; beating Hairul Izane Mohammad Ashor in a fully modified Proton Satria.

For class B for two-wheel drive cars without any limit on engine capacity but with limited forced inducation, the category was topped by Ahmad Mamduh Mohamad in a Honda Civic.

Round 2 would be held on May 7.

Results – Top Three Finishers

Class A

Suzaimi Ahmad (Daihatsu Mirage)

Hairul Izane Mohammad Ashor (Proton Satria)

Isharunizam Ismaon (Proton Satria)

Class B

Ahmad Mamduh Mohamad (Honda Civic)

Mohd Ainul Azri (Proton Satria)

Mohamad Fairus Jamaluddin (Proton Satria)

Class C

Ikmy Adzwan Jamuri (Honda Civic)

Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder (Honda Civic)

Ahmad Firdaus Azman (Honda Civic)

Class D

Khairul Anwar Ahmad (Proton Satria)

Nur Faizun Nasri (Honda Civic)

Khairul Syukri Mohd Sain (Nissan)

Class Fn (Non V-tec)

Ikmy Adzwan Jamuri (Honda Civic)

Mohd Tuah Kamarudin (Proton Satria)

Ismarizan Ishak (Proton Satria)

Class Fx (V-tec)

Mohd Iqbal Ismail Tajinder (Honda Civic)

Khairul Anwar Ahmad (Honda Civic)

Mohd Iqram Ismail Tajinder (Honda Civic)


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2