Published on December 13th, 2014

Team PROTON R3 demonstrated total domination with a 1-2 finish at the Sepang 1000KM Endurance Race 2014 by leading from start to finish. The No.12 Proton Prevé driven by Tengku Djan Ley & Syafiq Ali took the chequered flag after 181 laps with the No.11 Proton Suprima S driven by James Veerapen & Tengku Ezan Ley finishing in a close 2nd. Both cars with no “team orders” battled it out all the way to the end of the race with an incredible 0.42 seconds separating them as they crossed the finish line.

1-2 win

The PROTON R3 team set several records on their way to victory with the fastest qualifying time of 2 minutes 36.8s and a new lap record for the “Malaysian Touring Car” class race car. The 1000 km race distance was also completed in a record time of 8 hours and 17 minutes which saw faster overall lap times and the dry weather contributing to this achievement.


Last year’s winner, Honda Malaysia Racing Team finished in 3rd and 4th with their brand new Honda Jazz and Honda City race cars showing consistent pace.

This victory marks the 2nd time Team PROTON R3 has won the coveted Sepang 1000KM Endurance Race and also their 2nd 1-2 finish.

Words & Photos: Proton


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2