Newcomer takes Round 5 pole

Published on July 17th, 2010

It was a fierce battle for pole between Eurico De Jesus of Five Auto Racing Team, Son Veng Racing Team’s Leong Ian Veng and privateers Ho Wai Kun and Mak Ka Lok during the qualifying session for the Asian Touring Car Series.

The session, held today at the Sepang International Circuit saw Ho Wai Kun taking pole with 2:24.653. Ho in his BMW 320 beat out second placed qualifier, Eurico De Jesus, by three full seconds. De Jesus will line up alongside Ho tomorrow and ahead of current Championship leader, Mak of RPM Racing Team and series newcomer Leong.

RPM Racing’s Lui Man Kit takes row three with 2:27.962 while Charles Ng, who finished second during Round 4 takes sixth for Malaysian based team, G.Harry Racing, with his best time of 2:28.351.

Team IMSP’s Liu Lic Ka seems to still have troubles with his BMW 320 SI E90, going off into the gravel trap during the practice session and having to be towed away leaving him unable to join the qualifying session. Liu and his crew will have to start from the back should they be able to make repairs in time.

Round 5 of the Asian Touring Car Series is scheduled to be held on Sunday, 18 July 2010 at 8.50am while Round 6 is scheduled for 1.50pm Malaysian time.

words: Motorsport Asia  pix: Jerry Ch’ng


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2