Published on May 21st, 2011

With his powerful Lamborghini LP560 machine not being available after the second round this weekend, Dilantha Malagamuwa is gunning for a second double win in the GT Open class as the Sri Lankan continues his chase for a third Malaysian Super Series title.

Overall champion in 2006 and 2007 for the Supercar Championship, Dilantha, who was a class above his rivals in the MSS opening round at Sepang’s F1 weekend in April, said that he would need maximum points for Round 2 to open a significant gap over his rivals especially the defending champion Mok Weng Sun of Singapore.

“I will try my best to win both races this week end. I will have the Lamborghini for only one more round in Sepang as the car has to leave to Japan for Asian GT. I will have to compete in the next three rounds in my Porsche cup car; and competing against other faster cars.

“So I want to get the maximum points and I want to win MSS once again,” a regular competitor at Sepang Circuit who also uses the track to run his Dilango Racing Team and for private track experience for his clients.

“I will have big challenges in the last three rounds; but I will not give up. I will go all out to win the championship this year. My crew does a fantastic job; and if not for them I will not be winning races. Although they are locals, they are better than any other crew around the world,” added Dilantha, who had also competed in the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia, the Aston Martin Cup Asia and Sepang’s 12-hour Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race.

Dilantha in action!

“I really love racing in Sepang as everyone especially all the staff of Sepang Circuit treats me so well … I really feel like I am at home and I will like I am at home,” added Dilantha, who congratulated SIC for incorporating the opening round of the MSS cars as a support race for the 2011 Formula 1 PETRONAS Malaysian Grand Prix.

“I hope the MSS would continue to become a permanent feature of F1 race in Sepang. It provides good publicity for the series and it is also good for the drivers and teams,” said Dilantha, who would always remember the first MSS F1 support race which saw him winning both races and taking maximum points.

Commenting on the subject, SIC Chief Executive Officer Dato Ahmad Razlan Ahmad Razali said that the company would continue efforts in making the MSS as a support race for the Formula 1 PETRONAS Malaysian Grand Prix.

“I will always fight and ensure we get the best for MSS and so far it remains that way for now … After 13 years and only now MSS cars are supporting F1, it’s definitely a major breakthrough for us. It marks great progress and it is vital for the development for our championship.

“The response from the drivers and team was extremely positive and everyone looks forward for the same in 2012 and subsequent years,” he added.

Apart from the GT class, the MSS cars also feature the GT Open class, the Sport Production Class, the Touring and the Malaysian Touring Car Challenge. The drivers had their qualifying session today before entering two races tomorrow in deciding winners for the round.


0900 hrs – 0930 hrs Bikerz Cup Race 1

0945 hrs – 1015 hrs Classic Car Race 1

1030 hrs – 1100 hrs Supersport Race 1

1115 hrs – 1145 hrs Superbikes/Superstock Race 1

1200 hrs – 1230 hrs GT/Sport/Touring Production/MTC Race 1

1245 hrs – 1315 hrs Classic Car Race 2

1330 hrs – 1400 hrs Supersport Race 2

1415 hrs – 1445 hrs Superbikes/Superstock Race 2

1500 hrs – 1530 hrs GT/Sport’Touring Production/MTC Race 2

1545 hrs – 1615 hrs Bikerz Cup Race 2

MSS CARS – Top Three After Round 1


1.Dilantha Malagamuwa (Lamborghini LP560) 50

2. Mok Weng Sun (Porsche 911 GT3R) 40

3. Ian Mao (Porsche 996 GT3) 30


1.Stewart Seatter (Mazda RX7) 45

2. Rocky Siow (Lotus Exige) 30

3. Samson Chan Craft Eurasia Racing (Ginetta G50Z GT3) 25


1.Simon Waters (Aston Martin GT4) 45

2. Mark Williamson (Aston Martin GT4) 45

3. Fahrizal Hassan (Aston Martin GT4) 25


1.Perajun Krishnan (Honda Integra DC5) 50

2. Ian Geekie (Honda Integra DC5) 40

3. Harry Chai (Honda EP3) 30


1.Faidzil Alang (Proton Satria Neo) 45

2. Siah W. Pyng (Proton Satria Neo) 35

3. Aaron Lim (Proton Satria Neo) 25


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2