MSS2010 – Final Round Qualifying: Ahmad Zamani tops qualifying, edges closer to maiden MSS crown

Published on November 27th, 2010

Twice vice-champion in the Superbike Championship, Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin edged closer to his first Malaysian Super Series crown with an awesome performance in qualifying at Sepang Circuit today which would put him in pole position for tomorrow’s opening race in the Superstock Championship.

Clocking 2 minutes 14.973 seconds on his Honda CBR1000 machine, Zamani, who shifted to the Superstock Championship this season, even upstaged the Superbike riders including newly crowned champion, Yasuhiro Kuhara, who was fastest among the Superbike riders but second to Ahmad Zamani in a combined session.

Currently leading the Superstock Championship with 180 points, Zamani, however, will have his closest rival, Remon Azrem Abdul Karim on the front row after he placed himself second fastest among the Superstock riders and third in a combined Superbike/Superstock session.

Like the qualifying session, the Superstock race will run together with the Superbike Championship with grid positions for the second race to be decided based on the race classification in Race 1.

After four rounds and eight races, Zamani leads Remon by 20 points; making it an open affair tomorrow with a maximum of 50 points to be won in the final round. Nasarudin Mat Yusop is third with 73 points and is out of the title race.

In the Supersports Championship, Thailand’s Suhathai Cheamsap will start from pole position; but with championship leader Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman close to his side after both clocked the fastest times in qualifying today. Suhathai, who is currently third in the championship standing with 121 points, clocked 2 minutes 14.435 seconds.

Former cub prix champion Rosnizam Mohd Noor topped qualifying in the Bikerz Cup with a time of 2 minutes 36.106 seconds on his Kawasaki 150 machine; leading his two other Global Globe Racing team-mates Amirul Hafiq Mohd Azmi and Ahmad Azhar Abdul Hamid.


Round 5 – Top Five Qualifiers

Sepang Circuit – 5.543km


1. Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 2:14.973s

2. Remon Azrem Abd. Karim (Honda CBR1000) 2:16.314s

3. Faisal Yahya (Honda CBR1000) 2:18.488s

4. Eric Chia (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2:19.016s

5. Nasarudin Mat Yusop (Honda CBR1000) 2:21.133s


1. Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 2:15.015s

2. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Honda CBR1000) 2:16.840s

3. Syahnas Shahidan (MV Augusta) 2:17.424s

4. Cameron Donald (Ducati) 2:17.440s

5. Ahmad Azhar Abdul Hamid (Yamaha R1) 2:22.397a


1. Suhathai Chaemsap (Honda CBR600) 2:14.535s

2. Azlan Shah Kamaruddin (Yamaha R6) 2:15.579s

3. Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin (Yamaha R6) 2:15.675s

4. Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Honda CBR600) 2:16.101s

5. Apiwat Wongthananon (Honda CBR600) 2:16.382s


1.Rosnizam Mohd Noor (Kawasaki 150) 2:36.106s

2. Amirul Hafiq Mohd Azmi (Kawasaki 150) 2:36.317s

3. Ahmad Azhar Hamid (Kawasaki 150) 2:37.320s

4. Muhammad Faisal Yahya (Kawasaki 150) 2:41.361s

5. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Kawasaki 150) 2:41.439s

words: SIC  pix: Syafril Ismail


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2