MSS – Final Round: Bilski expects tight final round in Classic Car Series

Published on November 25th, 2010

Carrying a slim four-point advantage over his closest rival, championship leader Daniel Bilski has prepared himself for his toughest race of the season as the 2010 Classic Car Club of Hong Kong (CCCHK) Race Series enters its final round at the Malaysian Super Series at Sepang Circuit this weekend.

Bilski, who has garnered 74 points against Bertie McCrory’s total haul of 70 points after five rounds, said that his rival for the open class overall crown would be entering Round 6 with a new engine fitted to his awesome Lotus 7 machine.

“McCrory’s Lotus will be hard to beat this weekend with the car sporting a fresh engine and a very motivated driver!,” said Bilski, who stressed that he would also need to be wary of third placed Paul Winkelmann’s challenge.

“Paul Winkelmann in the stunning E-Type Jaguar is currently third in the Class O Championship and will be pushing for maximum points as well. I expect a very tight race. But, that had been the story of this season – very tight racing in all the classes throughout the year.

“Mike Rick’s thundering TVR 5000 will be pushing for race wins as will Gerry Kipling, returning in the mighty GT350 Mustang, ensuring that the Class O field will be extremely competitive in the final two races,” Bilski added.

Unlike the other MSS championships which have five rounds, the Hong Kong Classic Car Series – a permanent feature of the MSS since its inaugural year in 2002 – runs a six-round, 12 races championship this season. It ran an additional round in August as a support race for the 12-hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race.

Opened to cars manufactured prior to 31 December 1988, the competing cars must be presented true to their original engine, chassis, body and suspension design. For 2010, they contest in five different classes to ensure competitive racing, hence, allowing a wide range of car-types to compete for both their Class and overall Championship points on an equal footing.

While the open class features cars with more than 2,700cc per 1,000kg, Class A is contested cars that are less than 1,800cc per 1,000kg with additional weight for twin cam or single cam engine over push-rod motors. Class B groups cars between 1,800cc and 2,000cc per 1,000kg; Class C for cars with non-original engines with turbo or supercharged engines limited to 3,000cc; and Class R for the modern replica of classic cars.

After five rounds, Class C has Jeffrey Moo and his fast Honda CRX leading the championship as the former taxi driver holds a 19-point advantage over Phillip Volkaert’s Toyota Corolla. Izmi Marican in a Honda Civic is currently third with 39 points. With a maximum of 22 points available this weekend, the fight for the overall crown is still wide open.

In Class A, Hj Muhammad Farid Abdullah and Muhd Zaaim Abu Bakar in their Minis are vying for the Class A title this weekend and sure to be very closely matched.

The Class B Championship winner has been decided, with Ian Geekie in the Datsun 240Z GT, on 104 points, being out of reach of the field. However, there are still five Class B cars with the potential to take second or third in Class.

Wilson Ning in his Porsche 911 3.0SC, Iain Mackenzie in his beautifully prepared British Leyland Mini, Patrick Lam in another 911 3.0 SC, Miki Stojanovic with his M3 and Azman Ramly are all in hot pursuit of the other two steps open on the Class B Championship podium.

Ian Geekie has had a magic run of 8 Class B race wins in a row this year which means he has also claimed the Overall CCCHK Race Series Championship. Will it be 10 in a row after this weekend ? The CCCHK Race series class formula provides that any class O, A or B car competes for the overall title as well as class title.




1.Daniel Bilski (Porsche 911)                                             74 pts

2. Bertie McCrory (Lotus 7)                                                 70

3. Paul WinKelmann (Jaguar E-Type)                            36


1.Haji Muhammad Farid Abdullah (Mini 1275 GT)   33 pts

2. Muhd Zaaim Abu Bakar (Austin Mini)                     22

3. Vaughan Carnaffan (Alfa Romeo)                             01


1.Ian Geekie (Datsun 240Z GT)                                   104 pts

2. Wilson Ning (Porsche 3.0SC)                                   68

3. Iain Mackenzie (British Leyland Mini)                 57


1.Jeffrey Moo (Honda CRX)                                         76 pts

2. Phillipe Volkaerts (Toyota Corolla)                      57

3. Izmi Marican (Honda Civic)                                  39

words & pix: SIC



Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2