MMER 2011: Qualifying Day

Published on September 16th, 2011

It’s time once and again for the annual MMER (Merdeka Millenium Endurance Race) and what a Qualifying day it has been. What started out as a national race festival years back is now proving to be more and more of an International event unlike any other with the scores of race teams that are present this year.

The MMER 2011 has 3 main competing categories, namely the GT Class, Sports Production and last but not least the Touring Production which saw a whopping participation jump by no less than 20 Volkswagen Scirocco Rs from China. And as you’ve already read in the previous posts, the GT Class is dominated with entrees such as the Petronas Syntium Team’s Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3 machines, Audi R8 LMS(s), BMW Z4 GT3, Ferrari 458 GT3 & Lamborghini Gallardo LP560 forming the base line of the European camp. No signs of Porsche’s this year though.

Qualifying day provides from the usual thrills and spills, from both the proceedings on track and our tropical weather with slight occasional drizzles. Occupying the starting grid’s 1st and 2nd position tomorrow will be none other than the Petronas Syntium Team’s Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3 machines.

GT Class 2nd Qualifier. Pilots: N. Taniguchi, M. Yanagida, Dominic Ang

GT Class Pole Qualifier. Pilots: T. Kataoka, Fariqe Hairuman, Bernd Schneider

GT Class 3rd Qualifier. Pilots: Frank Biela, Marcel Fassler, Marco Werner

Petronas Syntium Team Car No. 28 driven by Tetsuya Kataoka, Fariqe Hairuman and Bernd Scheinder leads the GT Class with a total combined time of 6:16.346, followed by teammates in No.15 who are piloted by Nobuteru Taniguchi, Masataka Yanagida and Dominic Ang with a timing of 6:17.231 combined. The No.1 Belgian Audi Club piloted by the combination of Frank Biela, Marcel Fassler and Marco Werner will start from third position with the combined total time of 6:18.421.

Sports Production Pole Qualifier. Pilots: Dato’ Adrian D’Silva, M. Fahrizal, Ian Ross Geekie

Sports Production 2nd Qualifier. Pilots: Dennis Lian, Oh Siang Hui, James Fancourt Mitchell

Sports Production 3rd Qualifier. Pilots: M. Kawaguchi, M. Ueda, Norio Kubo

In the Sports Production category, the No.27 Nexus Racing Aston Martin Vantage driven by Dato Adrian D’Silva, Mohd. Fahrizal and Ian Ross Geekie leads the charge with the total combined time of 7:04.124, followed by the No.55 Aylezo Motorsports Lotus 2-11 driven by Denis Lian, Oh Siang Hui and James Fancourt Mitchell with the time 7:08.218 combined, while starting in the third position with a combined time of 7:23.069 is the No.39 Tracy Sports S2000 driven by Masatama Kawaguchi, Masayuki Ueda and Norio Kobo.

Touring Production Pole Qualifier. Pilots: Eddie Lew, Patrick Tam, Keifli Othman

Touring Production 2nd Qualifier. Pilots: Boy Wong Yew Choong, Soh Kee Koon, Lai Wee Sing

Touring Production 3rd Qualifier. Pilots: Piti Bhirombhak, Vutthikorn, Apathorn Kamasata

Meanwhile in Touring Production, a total domination by Honda is evident by the team of Eddie Lew, Patrick Tam and Keifli Othman in the No.9 JC Racing Integra Type R who managed to achieve a total combined time of 7:18.557 ┬áin first place, followed by No.21 Type R Racing Team’s Civic Type R Boy Wong Yew Choong, Soh Kee Koon and Lai Wee Sing with the combined time of 7:20.629; followed by the No.12 Singha Honda Total Team Thailand’s Civic Type R with the combined time of 7:21.678 by Piti Bhirombhak, Vutthikorn and Apathorn Kamasata.

MMER 2011 will begin tomorrow in Sepang International Circuit at 12:00pm local time.

Stay tuned for more coverage.

words & pix: Damion Chee


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2