MAM-SIC RallySprint 2009 Final Round

Published on October 15th, 2009

Wow! Looking at the rally drivers going around the gravel was really entertaining. I’ve always thought that rally drivers are among the craziest and most skillful when compared to any other motorsports, but that’s just me.

Motorsports Association Malaysia – Sepang International Circuit RallySpring 2009 has just ended with a neck-to-neck victory by Gunaseelan Rajoo from GSR-Pennzoil Racing Team. Well, no surprise there because, have you seen these guys drive?


The rally was being held on October 10 and 11, and it was a showdown of skills and mud between Sutan Mustaffa Salihin from Glopac Motorsports, James Russell from Scuderia SR and Mohd Rafiq Udhaya from MRU Motorsports during this last round of the 2009 season.

Privateer contender, Ang Meng Yee, who was driving a Honda Civic EF, and Tonnie Wong with a rented Subaru Impreza, also joined the racing galore without any feeling of inferiority, proving themselves over the sponsored rally drivers. And probably, some managed to give the more impressive teams a lesson in rallying.


The third round of this mud-splattering race was quite unique, as the first race was held on Saturday night while the second race on daytime Sunday. The night race was quite challenging, as the drivers had to rely on their headlights, and the moonlight, for a little bit of brightness to navigate through the track. Not an easy feat, especially considering the fact that they had no other source of light that available for them to see the track.

The racers were ‘released’ at 7pm by Alex Yoong and Mia Sharizman Ismail of Motorsports Association of Malaysia. There were over 25 participants consisting of rally veterans and newbies. The reason being was that to let the mixture of new and old drivers learn from each other, with the more experience giving them some hard lessons in rallying.


The first race, Leg 1, which had 4 special stages, was conquered by GSR-Pennzoil Racing Team Gunaseelan Rajoo and navigator Manoharan Menon driving a Proton Putra 4WD Turbo. Second place was won by Sutan Mustaffa Salihin and navigator M.Noorhafidzi from Glopac Motorsports driving a Proton Satria 1.6. Third place was won by Ang Meng Yee and navigator Ng Boon Huat, a privateer team, and was driving a Honda Civic 1.8. Lady luck refused to smooch James Russell from Scuderia SR and caused the turbo on his Subaru Impreza to malfunction, forcing him to forfeit despite being comfortable on Leg 1.


Leg 2, which was held on Sunday, had 8 special stages and started at 11am. There were many more spectators, though. The drivers were seen giving it all they got to be ahead, and provided the spectators with a lot of dust.

At around 4pm, all 8 special stages were completed without any mishaps, well, no accidents that is. At 5pm, official results were announced, with Gunaseelan Rajoo from GSR-Pennzoil Racing Team conquering the whole MAM-SIC RallySprint 2009.

Results are as follows:

Keputusan adalah seperti berikut:

1. Gunaseelan Rajoo – GSR Pennzoil Racing Team – Proton Putra 4WD Turbo: 17:05.0

2. Sutan Mustaffa Salihin – Glopac Motorsports – Proton Satria 1.6: 18:45.0

3. Ang Meng Yee – Privateer – Honda Civic 1.8: 18:59.0

4. Tonnie Wong – Privateer – Subaru Impreza: 19:02.0

5. Mohd Rafiq Udhaya – MRU Motorsports: 19:09.0

text: GearTinggi pix: Mat Uia, Syawal Ahmad, Syafril Ismail


  1. Posted by Mak Uia on October 16th, 2009, 00:13

    I want the shirt !


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2