Malaysian Super Series Cars – Round 4 Zen Low is MSS Sport Production Championship

Published on September 16th, 2012

With a round to spare, Zen Low has been crowned as the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) champion for the Sport Production after the Azylezo Motorsports driver continued his winning streak by taking victory at Sepang Circuit today for Round 4.

“I am so happy … finally, winning it this year,” said the Sarawak-born driver, who finished second overall last year behind Tan Wei Roon.

“The mission now is to make it a perfect season by winning the final round in November,” said Zen, who took his total haul of championship points to an unassailable 130 points after four rounds.

“I would say this season had been great for the team,” said Zen, who finished second in the Sports Production class at the Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race last month; partnering Marcus Chye and Patrick Ng in a Lotus Evora.

After finishing third in the two opening races in Round 1 for the MSS, Zen won the following two rounds in his Lotus 2-11 machine to take control of the championship. In an one-hour endurance format today, Zen won by completing 23 laps in 1 hour 2 minutes 13.965 seconds; taking home 25 championship points.

Bruce Lee, who finished third today behind Steven Chian, remained second overall in the championship standings with 78 points and only 50 maximum points to be won in the final round. Like Zen, both Steven and Bruce also completed 23 laps of the 5.553-km long circuit.

In the Malaysian Touring Car Challenge, Proton R3 Racing target of a fourth successive win was not materialized after the partnership of Syafiq Ali and James Veerapan only managed fourth position after Veerapan skidded into the gravel bed where he lost a lot of time.

He only managed to get back on to the track with the help of marshals and a tow truck; and was lucky to be able to continue and finish the race to collect 10 precious points. That took their total haul to 135 points and enough to crown Proton R3 as champions for the category.

The race today was won by former MSS Supersaloon champion Soh Kee Koon, who opted for a solo drive and completed the hour-race with 21 laps and carried his total championship points to 65 points and second in the overall standings.

For the Touring Production category, today’s race was won by the partnership of Lai Wee Sing and Tan Lye Wye, who completed 22 laps in their Honda FD2 machine. Damien Dielenberg was second and the partnership of Hidehatu Kutori took third place.

The GT Open class was topped by Frank Yu of Craft Eurasia Racing Team, who completed 25 laps in the one-hour contest. Vignesa Moorthy took second with third place going to Adrian Silva.

Round 5 and final round of the MSS would be held in the first weekend of November.

This year’s MSS is supported Iktikadraya – the distributor of alpinestars; Panta Racing Fuel; MAXIM oil lubricants, NITRON shock absorber, DID racing chain, Kawasaki, Pirelli, Michelin, DNA air filter for bikes, XAM sprocket, SBS brake and On The Road, which is the official magazine for the series.


One Hour Endurance – Top Three Finishers

Sepang Circuit – 5.543km

GT Open Class

1.Frank Yu (Aston Martin GT3) 25 laps

2. Vignesa Moorthy (Radical) 25 laps

3. Adrian Henry d’Silva (Porsche GT3) 25 laps

Malaysian Touring Car Challenge

1.Soh Kee Hon (Toyota Altis) 21 laps

2. Ricardo Lopes/ Alvaro Mourano (Satria Neo) 21 laps

3. Kok Pak Chiang/ Sutan Mustaffa (Proton Gen-2) 21 laps

Sports Production Class

1.Zen Low (Lotus 2-11) 23 laps

2. Steven Chian (Ferrari F360) 23 laps

3. Bruce Lee (Lotus) 23 laps

Touring Production Class

1.Lai Wee Sing/ Tan Lye Wee (Honda FD2) 22 laps

2. Damian Dielenberg (Integra DC5) 22 laps

3. Hidehatu Kutoki/ K.Perajun (Integra DC5) 22 laps

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2