Published on February 21st, 2011

Attracting more than 600 cyclists with the likes of Anuar Manan, Noreffendy Rosli and Mohd Hariff Saleh; and top motor racing names like Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah, Muhammad Zamri Baba and Eric Yeo, the third edition of Kencana SIC Bikeathon at Sepang Circuit today was hailed as another success; and spurring event organizer Sepang International Circuit to develop the event further next year.

“We had more people this year and they come in very happy mood to enjoy the event. We will be looking to feedbacks from the participants to develop the event further. One of it would be the women’s categories,” said SIC Chairman Dato’ Mokhzani Tun Dr Mahathir flagged off the main event – the open class for the criterium race.

He added: “Through this event, people will notice that SIC do not only organize car and bike races; but also other races as well like this bikeathon. SIC is open to any different kind of race.

“We definitely hope to attract more participants next year,” said Mokhzani, who is also the Group Chief Executive Officer of Kencana Petroleum Berhad.

Apart from top Malaysian riders, the third edition of Kencana SIC Bikeathon attracted also attracted riders from Japan, Iran, Indonesia, Germany and expatriates working in Malaysia.

The premier category saw a tight battle to the end of the 12-lap battle with a large peloton of some 50 riders in a close group as they entered the final lap of an 11-lap contest. Starting in the opposite anti-clockwise direction, they continued to bunch together until final bend at Turn 1 before the pacemakers swerving to the side to allow their sprinters to compete to the checkered flag.

Representing Terengganu Pro-Asia Cycling Team, Hariff won the battle of the sprinters with a time of 1 hour 14 minutes 16.102 seconds; edging out his more celebrated team-mate Anuar, who clocked 1 hour 14 minutes 16.806 seconds.

In a field of 219 starters, Mohd Nor Ridzuan Zainal from Armed Forces Cycling Team finished third; while Noreffendy finished in 26th place.

Terengganu’s top junior rider Mohd Afiq Huznie Othman topped the junior category; taking a time of 42 minutes 59.497 seconds to cover six laps of the racing circuit. Malaysia’s cub prix champion 18-year old Hafizh Syahrin Adullah finished 29th among 41 starters.

Tony Harvey defended his veteran title; scoring a hattrick and winning the class this year with a commendable time of 44 minutes 48.243 second in a six-lap battle around the circuit. Eric Yeo – Malaysian Super Series multiple champions and winner of the 12-hour Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race in 2002 finished in 53rd place.

In the jamboree challenge – covering 40 kilometers of off-road terrain around the vicinity of Sepang Circuit, former national road racing champion Wan Mohd Najmee took top place; beating off national mountain bike rider Nor Shahriel Haizat, who took top placing.

Another national cyclist Mohd Razif Mohd Salleh took second place while another national mountain bike rider Shahrin Amir took fourth placing. Malaysia’s Moto2 wildcard rider Muhammad Zamri Baba finished 29th from  a field of 217 riders.

Prizes were given away by former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.




Criterium – Open Category

(11 laps)

1          MOHD HARRIF SALEH                                   1’14.16.102

2          ANUAR MANAN                                                1’14.16.806

3          MOHD NOR RIDZUAN ZAINAL                    1’14.16.966

4          MOHD SYAUFI BIN MAT SEMAN                1’14.17.583

5          SAYUTI ZAHID                                                   1’14.17.669

6          MUHAMMAD AIM                                            1’14.17.943

7          HMOHD SHAHRUL                                          1’14.18.003

8          MOHD AMIN AMIRUL                                    1’14.18.332

9          MOHD HAFIZ ROZALI                                    1’14.18.646

10        AHMAD HUZAIQI                                             1’14.18.771

Criterium – Junior Category

(6 laps)

1          MOHD AFIQ HUZNIE OTHMAN                   42’ 59.497

2          MUHAMMAD IMRAN ZUBIR                        42’ 59.747

3          MOHD AZIZ MOHD ZAHID                           42’ 59.826

4          MOHD FIRDAUS                                               43’ 00.010

5          FARIZ ZONIS                                                      43’ 00.711

6          ABDUL AZIM                                                      43’ 02.835

7          RYAN CHAN                                                        43’ 03.858

8          LOY MUN HO                                                     43’ 03.879

9          MOHD AELE                                                       43’ 05.762

10        LOW JIT MING                                                   43’ 06.386

Criterium – Veteran Category

(6 laps)

1          TONY HARVEY                                                  44’ 48.243

2          LIEW FOOK LOY                                              44’ 48.399

3          SHAHARIN RAZALI                                        44’ 48.584

4          KELVIN WU                                                      44’ 48.634

5          SAFUAN AMAN                                               44’ 48.695

6          MOHD RAFI                                                     44’ 48.902

7          ABDUL RAHIM RAFIK                                  44’ 49.118

8          KENNETH KENG                                            44’ 49.354

9          ISMAIL BIN DALAHAN                                 44’ 49.547

10        JOHARI TATI                                                   44’ 50.593

Jamboree – Jamboree (Mountain Bike)

1          WAN MOHD NAJMEE                                  Finish

2          MOHD RAZIF MOHD SALLEH                  00’00.861

3          NOR SAHRIEL HAIZAT                               00’04.481

4          SHAHRIN AMIR                                            00’14.634

5          MOHD HAFIZ ROZLI                                  00’15.796

6          ANUAR MANAN                                          00’15.889

7          MUHAMMAD AIM                                      02’02.428

8          MOHD ALLIE HELMY                               05’07.352

9          MOHD SHAFARI ABD MAHIR               05’07.409

10        MOHD FARHOUD MOHD FADZIL      05’10.902

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2