GT4 Asia Round 3: Bilski blazes from pole to flag in the heat

Published on June 20th, 2010

It was a brilliant pole to flag victory for Australian driver Daniel Bilski, when he claimed his second win of the GT4 Asia Cup 2010 season. The Team Road and Track driver maintained his lead in his first rolling start from pole position and immediately pulled away from the rest of the pack.

Bilski did not look to what was happening behind him and just kept his head down maintaining his speed and by lap 4 had opened up a 10 second gap from the second driver.

“It was my first rolling start in pole position, so it was a bit of an unknown for me, but we got a good start. I didn’t really take notice of what was going on behind me because I was just trying to get going.”

“I managed to keep a gap into turn 1 and it was a big scramble behind me and I just tried to stay clear of it and I just pushed like hell,” said Bilski at the Post Race Press Conference.

It was a tussle for second behind the race leader at the start with Simon Waters, Adrian Henry D’Silva and Matthew Perry fighting for space heading into turn 1. Waters managed to stay clear of the fight and got out of the turn clean leaving D’Silva and Perry fighting for third. The duo touched but managed to rejoin the race.

“I managed to maintain my lead in front of Nigel and Matthew so it was good and I am pleased.”

When asked if he was worried about not being able to get to the podium at any time during the race Waters answered, “from Lap One!”

“There are some very good drivers out there. You have to be on your game to get here so I would like to thank my team and Concord Energy.”

At the same time, Mark Williamson, who is partnering Ryan Marsden in the #33 car, had a fantastic start and moved up the ranks to catch up with the leaders. By lap 2, he caught up to D’Silva and Perry and the trio had a fantastic 4 lap battle, changing positions a few times before the pit-stop window opened.

At the end of the mandatory stops and driver change, Bilski was still leading the race and was beginning to open up the gap again but this time more cautiously as the tyre wear was making it slippery on the very hot track.

“The pit-stop didn’t quite go according to plan and we ran well over time on the stop. We wanted to be conservative as it was hard to get the times right. I think we dropped five or six seconds and it was a case come back out again and push like hell,” said Bilski.

The 30 minute race ended with Bilski crossing the line ahead of Waters and Perry for the podium positions.

“It’s a real change of fortunes. We’ve come into this weekend really struggling on set-up, fortunately a last ditch call to Ginetta last night and we managed to get some settings from them which we hadn’t tried. For the race there was a difference where we were struggling in the back and now we are starting to run in front, so it has made a big difference,” said a happy Perry at the Post Race Press Conference.

“The team, Track Torque Racing and G.Harry Racing, have been great working really late and we are happy with the result,” Perry concluded.

D’Silva finished in fourth ahead of Frank Yee, who also had a troubled race that saw him drop down at the start and having to make his way back up to fifth. Ryan Marsden finished sixth ahead of Nigel Farmer, Gilbert/Gerrard Yap and Hu Cheng Wei.

For the Championship leader, the morning race tomorrow could be very different with track temperatures not as hot as today.

“It will be quite different, the track will be much cooler so that’s really a question of seeing what happens overnight what the weather will be like in the morning. If it’s cooler then it will be interesting.”

The GT4 Asia Cup will continue wit Round 4 being held Sunday, 20 June at 9.50am.

words: Motorsport Asia  pix: Jerry Ch’ng

Top 5

Pos   No     Name                           Total Tm       Best Tm        Make/Model             Team

1         7         Daniel Bilski                  30:23.612        2:23.719          Aston Martin/ N24      Team Road & Track

2        23       Simon Waters                30:36.449       2:24.702         Aston Martin/ N24      Dynaten Motorsports

3        50       Matthew Perry               30:37.966       2:25.396         Ginetta/ G50 GT4        Track Torque Racing

4        46       Adrian Henry D’Silva  30:44.800       2:24.232         Aston Martin/ N24      Nexus Racing

5        99       Frank Yee                        31:02.881       2:26.348        Aston Martin/ N24       S&D/Conca Maca Team


  1. Posted by BMW Rims on December 9th, 2011, 22:36

    Great piece of information! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thanks.


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2