GRA Nationals Autocross Championships 2012 concludes

Published on January 31st, 2013

Grass Racing Autosports concluded their final round of their 5 round championships in December last year. Grass Racing Autosports or commonly known as GRA is backed by Red Line Oil, Vanli Genuine Parts, PG Perma Glass, Gophers GPS, Meguiar’s and Maxxis Tires for the GRA Nationals this year. The Overall Champion for 2013 went to Marcus Chye from Team Lotus Malaysia. It was a tough battle for Marcus this year, with Ivan Khong from Team Red Line in his Subaru Impreza hot on his heels round after round. The race this year proved to be a real close one with drivers from every other class matching the top times of the previous champions of Marcus, Ivan and Andy Kow from Team Maxxis Tires.

Aaric Ooi

Andy Kow

Ivan Khong from Team Red Line took 1st in Class OD (Beyond 2000cc) for Round 5 and the overall win but Ivan’s points were not enough to stop Marcus from taking the 2012 championship. Round 5 started with a light drizzle in the morning period that was followed by a large downpour. Ivan took opportunity by clocking an absolutely fast time that stayed as the Fastest Time of the Day for the entire afternoon.

CB Sia 2

Charles Ling

For the first time ever in GRA, three past champions each having two Overall titles to their names battled it out in 2012. Ivan is the 2006 & 2007 Champion, Andy 2008 & 2009 Champion and Marcus 2010 & 2011 Champion and is also now the 2012 Champion. Howard Goh, Head of Red Line Oil said, ‘ Red Line has always been in the forefront of grassroot level motorsports here, and we are proud to be part of a great series that has created more motorsports enthusiasts than ever’. Team Red Line was the biggest entry of drivers this year with 4 cars comprising of Ivan Khong, Ray Leong, Christopher Chong, and Alven Lee.

Christopher Chong

Dixon Khoo

Vanli Genuine Parts had a new lady into the motorsports scene which is Ms. Jess See that overlooks all aspects of marketing for Vanli which is one of Malaysia’s largest parts distributor that have their own aftermarket OEM parts such as Hyunkia and TEN. Mr. C.K. Lim Head of Vanli said, ‘ GRA has been given us a chance to showcase our company’s parts network and also to support the drivers in seeking good quality genuine parts to keep their car running competitively ’.



The top three overall positions for Grass Class went to Lim Chee Siong in a Proton Iswara 1300cc, with Jonathon Wong in 2nd Overall and Raymond Wong in 3rd Overall positions. The Grass Class proved to be a task this year as the drivers were put up against the Pro drivers to cut run times during the day. Surprisingly C.S Lim in his Proton Iswara proved that he was faster than some of the Pro drivers in faster cars.




The race being split up by Novice drivers in the morning and Pro Drivers in the afternoon may soon be merged in 2013 to keep the races exciting and also to pit the new drivers to match up against the Pros. ‘ GRA has always been a big part in promoting safe racing as we are sanctioned by MAM, Motorsports Association of Malaysia ’, said Ian Khong ambassador for GRA. The Pro Grass Drivers this year had the first taste of getting into a race suit for an autocross / gymkhana series. It was a good addition to promote safety amongst the other grassroot level series available in the region.




Head of Gophers GPS Technologies Mr. Lee Siong said, ‘ The GRA championships has always been an exciting part of our involvement with the community ‘. Meguiar’s Marketing personnel Esther Lim said, ‘ GRA is a great way of expanding our coverage on showcasing our detailing products’. Gophers has a race team running comprising of Jaryd Tan, Calvin Kok, and Jonathon Lim. Meguiar’s had their flashy Mitsubishi Evolution 7 driven by Victor Lim that happens to own a Meguiar’s Detailing Centre called Bling Detailing Haus in USJ.

Mohd Azman



Team Maxxis Tires led by Gerard Kiong Head of Marketing, ‘ GRA is a good place for Maxxis Tires to showcase our passenger car tires to the community ‘. Andy Kow from Team Maxxis in his Subaru managed to finish a 4th Overall in the overall positions despite of a problems faced with his car this year. PG Perma Glass Head of Marketing Mr. Ong said, ‘ We are proud to be a part of large community of enthusiasts who love motorsports and their cars!’ Team PG Perma Glass with C.B.Sia in his Proton Satria Neo managed to finish in 2nd Overall in his Class OC for 1601cc -2000cc with Mitch Chong taking the 1st Overall title for the class. Novice Champion for Class OC went to Sim Kian Teng in his near stock Proton Wira 1800cc. It was a tough battle for Class OC.



For the Class OA class title fight, it was Mohammad Azman in his Proton Satria that took 1st Overall in the title chase for his class, with Kenneth Chiew in Alven’s Perodua Kelisa by Red Line taking 2nd with Team Vanli’s driver William Lim taking 3rd in class. It was the first time that William had lost the title since the championships been introduced as he suffered car problems from Round 3 onwards.



For Class OB, overall champion when to Aaric Ooi in his Proton Waja Mivec. Second in class was followed by Ray Leong from Team Red Line and Charles Ling third in class. It was closely fought battle with all three of them racing down to the wire for this season.

Ivan Khong 2

Marcus Chye

The GRA Nationals 2012 proved to be a tough one with many cars suffering problems, making the series being more than just grassroots but also a race of attrition, endurance, and competitiveness throughout the entire 5 rounds. GRA moves ahead to the 2013 with its series being called as the GRA Nationals since 2012, with autocrossing/gymkhana level at its highest competitiveness. For more information on this exciting series do log onto” for more details of their facebook group at

words & pix: GRA


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2