ETCM’s Executive Director named “Automotive Man of the Year 2009”

Published on December 16th, 2009

The New Straits Times/Maybank Car of the Year 2009 named ETCM’s Executive Director, Dato’ Dr Ang Boon Beng, as one of the two (2) “Automotive Man of The Year” at the awards ceremony recently.

On his selection for this prestigious annual industry award, Dato’ Dr Ang said:” I am extremely honoured and accept this award with gratitude and a deep sense of humility. Together with my chairman, Dato’ Tan Heng Chew, the team and I will continue to nurture and develop Tan Chong Motor to be more cost effective, competitive, innovative and productive. We aim to take Tan Chong Motor to greater heights as well as to remain resilient in facing future challenges.”

“Dato Dr Ang was selected for his efforts in keeping the Tan Chong business thriving and making it the icon it is today. “quoted panel of judges of NST/Maybank 2009 Awards.


In the NST/Maybank Car of the Year 2009 awards presentation, the Nissan 370Z won the Premium Performance Car category. The 370Z had also won the Best Two-Door Coupe Category in the inaugural Malaysian EVO Performance Car of the Year Awards 2009 last month.

A panel of 10 judges, comprising motoring editors, an automotive blogger and other distinguished personalities nominate outstanding cars in their respective categories and evaluate them according to specific criteria such as exterior and interior design, comfort and ergonomics, performance, safety, emotional appeal and after-sales service, including the comprehensiveness of warranties.

Only new and substantially face-lifted models introduced in the country since the beginning of this year are eligible for nomination. The highest scoring vehicle in each category based on the total number of points given by respective judges, wins the award for “Best in Class” category.

The winners for the New Straits Times/Maybank 2009 Awards were announced at a gala dinner at The Saujana Kuala Lumpur, hosted by New Straits Times and the title sponsor, Maybank Berhad. The guest-of-honour for the night was Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, the Deputy Prime Minister.

text & pix: ETCM


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2