Published on May 26th, 2012

Two-time Malaysian Super Series (MSS) champion, Dilantha Malagamuwa topped qualifying at the second round of the Malaysian Super Series for cars; giving him the honour as the first pole sitter in a newly-introduced endurance race format at Sepang Circuit tomorrow.

Clocking 2 minutes 11.466 seconds around the 5.543-km track under scorching heat today, the Sri Lankan, who also competed in the GT Asia Series, was clearly a class above his rivals with Craft Eurasia Racing coming in second in the premier GT Class.

In a new format that allowed two drivers to a car, the partnership of Samson Chan and Cyndie Alleman was second fastest with a time of 2 minutes 11.722 seconds in their Ginetta G50Z GT4  machine. Phillip Ma of Hong Kong was third fastest in his Audi R8 LMS; clocking a best lap time of 2 minutes 12.740 seconds.

Unlike previously, the MSS cars would compete in an one-hour endurance with cars in the GT Class, GT Production and Sports Production Class running together and the other categories of Malaysian Touring Challenge (MTC) and Touring Production Class in a separate one-hour endurance races to held tomorrow.

The changes was made in line with Sepang International Circuit’s efforts to streamline rules on the technical specifications of the MSS cars to the prestigious 12-hour Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race and the Sepang 1000-km Race, which be held later in August and December respectively.

Qualifying for the GT Production Class was topped by Eric Lo who clocked 2 minutes 15.855 seconds in his Ferrari F430 machine. Shaun Thong, also in a Ferrari F430, was second fastest with a time of 2 minutes 16.784 seconds and Adrian Silva in third in his Porsche 997 machine.

In the Sports Production Class, 14-year old Daniel Rao recorded the third fastest time in his Bufori BMS R1 with a time of 2 minutes 33.200 seconds. The category was topped by former national jetskier, Zen Low who clocked 2 minutes 26.289 seconds in a Lotus machine.

In the Malaysian Touring Car Challenge race, the partnership of Syafiq Ali and James Veerapan of R3 Racing Team would start from pole position after they secured the fastest time in 2 minutes 39.590 seconds.

They will be joined on the front row with the partnership of Type R Racing Team, which featured Harry Chai and Boy Wong Yew Choong, winner of four MSS titles. Driving a Proton Satria Neo, they clocked a best lap time of 2 minutes 43.325 seconds.

Qualifying for the Touring Production Class was topped by Damien Dieleberg, who clocked a time of 2 minutes 34.406 seconds in his Honda Integra machine.

GT Class

1          Dilantha Malagamuwa                       Lamborghini LP560      2:11.466

2          Samson Chan / Cyndie Alleman        Ginetta G50Z GT4         2:11.722

3          Philip Ma                                             Audi R8 LMS                 2:12.740

4          Frank Yu / Hideto Yasuoka                  Ginetta G50Z GT3         2:57.369

GT Open Class

1          Eric Lo                                                  Ferrari F430 GT3            2:15.855

2          Shaun Thong                                       Ferrari 430                    2:16.784

3          Adrian d’Silva                                     Porsche 997                 2:17.162

4          Craig Corliss                                        Ford Fallon                   2:18.154

5          Noel Becker                                         Lamborghini LP520      2:18.994

Sports Production Class

1          Zen Low                                               Lotus                            2:26.289

2          Bruce Lee                                             Lotus                            2:31.776

3          Daniel Rao                                          BMS R1                         2:33.200

4          Tan Kok Ho                                          Lotus                            2:34.538

5          Chiew Ruoh Peng                               Lotus                            2:37.418

Malaysian Touring Car Challenge

1          Syafiq Ali /James Veerapan                Proton Satria Neo        2:39.590

2.         Wong Yew Choong / Harry Chai        Proton Satria Neo        2:43.325

3          Kok Pak Chiang / Sutan Mustaffa       Proton Gen-2               2:44.834

4          Selim Azrani / Mohd Afdzal                 Proton Satria Neo        2:46.820

5          Shazull Hisham Harun                          Proton Satrio Neo        2:48.170

Touring Production Class

1          Damian Dielenberg                             Honda Integra             2:34.406

2          Fahrizal Hassa                                      Honda Integra DC5     2:35.419

3          Kesavamoorthy / [email protected]           Honda Integra            2:35.514

4          K Perajun                                             Honda Integra DC5     2:37.013

5          Kenny Lee Wan Yuen                           Toyota Altezza             2:37.498

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2