Darryl O’ Young Blows Away Competition at Malaysian Super Series

Published on July 17th, 2012

In a participation to test a new car and to prepare for the upcoming Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race (MMER) in September, World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) Darryl O’Young blew away his rivals with an awesome performance to rule Round 3 of the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) at Sepang Circuit today.

Undoubtedly music to the ears of other MSS drivers, Darryl, who had been competing worldwide for 17 weekends since January this year, declared that his participation in the series was a ‘one-off thing’ and would not be competing in the remaining three rounds.

“But, of course, I will back in Sepang for the MMER. I am actually here just to test new Camaro GT3 and also to prepare myself for the MMER which I won in 2008,” said Darryl, who decided to skip Race 2 after taking the series to new standards in the new Chevrolet Camaro GT3 machine in the GT class.

After clocking a lap time 2 minutes 10.080 seconds in free practice on Friday, Darryl, who won the MMER in 2008 with Mok Weng Sun and Alexander Nicolas Davison in a Porsche 997, clocked an even faster time of 2 minutes 09.285 seconds in qualifying on the following day.

With his victory never in doubt, Darryl completed the opening race under scorching heat in 22 minutes 17.225 seconds; clocking 2 minutes 10.671 seconds as his best lap time.

“It’s good to note that the car performed very well here in Sepang in this kind of hot weather. The Camaro GT3 was just launched in Malaysia and this one was just flown in from Germany for testing. It is the first time for this car to be tested in this kind of weather; and we definitely have learned a lot by coming here this weekend.

“On a personal note, this hot and humid weather is also good my preparations for the MMER,” said Darryl, who would be partnering Japan’s Keita Sawa and Alan Siu for LKM Racing Team at the 12-hour endurance race. The 13th edition of the MMER would have an afternoon start for this year on September 1.

Partnering Malaysia’s former F1 driver Alex Yoong and Japan’s Seiji Ara in an Audi R8 LMS last year for Belgian Audi Team; Darryl finished fifth overall after managing only 307 laps in the 12-hour contest. The race was won by Petronas Syntium Racing Team which featured Nobuteru Tanaguchi, Masataka Yanagida and Malaysia Dominic Ang.

After the MSS race in Sepang, Darryl, who drives for Reiter Engineering Racing Team, would be heading to Brazil to compete in Round 8 of the 2012 WTCC in Curitiba, which is scheduled next weekend. Apart from WTCC, Darryl also competes in the FIA GT1 World Championship.

In the absence of Darryl in Race 2, Noel Becker of Arrows Racing won the race. Vignesa Moorthy of VRD Motorsports was leading the race for three laps before his open-top Radical car encountered mechanical problems; handing over the leadership to Becker, who raced to the chequered flag to win the 10-lap contest in 24 minutes 7.196 seconds.

In the battle of the Lotus machines in the Sports Production Championship, former national jet-skier Zen Low was again unrivalled in the category; scoring a double victory for the round. Bruce Lee took two consecutive second places with Tan Kok Ho taking third placing in both races.

“Naturally, I am happy with the win; but I sincerely wish that the Aston Martins will be here for the next rounds … that would make the race even more interesting,” said the FX Primus Aylezo team principal.

Like Zen, Hidehatu Kutoki of Japan also took a double win for round in the Touring Production Class. Malaysians Damien Dielenberg and Fahrizal Hassan took second and third places respectively in both races today.

The Malaysian Touring Car Challenge continued to be topped by Proton R3 Racing, with Syafiq Ali winning it for the team in Race 1 and James Veerapan emulating his feat in the second race; keeping their winning trend to six consecutive races.

Malaysian Super Series Cars – Round 3

Podium Winners

Race 1 (10 laps)

GT Open Class

1.Darryl O’Young (Chevrolet Camaro GT3) 22:17.225s

2. Vignesa Moorthy (Radical) 23:16.376s

3. Adrian d’Silva (Porsche 997) 23:17.849s

Sports Production Class

1. Zen Low (Lotus) 22:23.429s (9 laps)

2. Bruce Lee (Lotus) 23:28.543s (9 laps)

3. Chiew Ruoh Peng (Lotus) 23:40.068s (9 laps)

Touring Production Class

1.Hidehatu Kutoki (Honda Integra DC5) 23:09.229s (9 laps)

2. Damien Dielenberg (Honda Integra DC5) 23:25.967s (9 laps)

3. Fahrizal Hassan (Honda Integra DC5) 23:28.130s (9 laps)

Malaysian Touring Challenge

1.Syafiq Ali (Satria Neo) 24:42.413s (9 laps)

2. Soh Kee Koon (Toyota Altis) 24.49.525s (9 laps)

3. Alvaro Mourato (Satria Neo) 22:27.232s

RACE 2 (10 laps)

GT Open

1. Noel Becker (Lamborghini LP520) 24:07.196s

2. K C Thong (Ferrari F430) 24:20557s

3. Rocky Siow (Lotus Exige) 25:11.183s

Sports Production

1. Zen Low (Lotus) 25:00.170s

2. Bruce Lee (Lotus) 24:43.958s

3. Tan Kok Ho (Lotus) 25:52.629s

Touring Production

1.Hidehatu Kutoki (Honda Integra DC5) 25:42.823s

2. Damien Dielenberg (Honda Integra DC5) 26:02.709s

3. Fahrizal Hassan (Honda Integra DC5) 26:06.625s

Malaysian Touring Challenge

1.James Veerapan (Satria Neo) 24:29.009s (9 laps)

2. Soh Kee Koon (Toyota Altis) 24:33.290s (9 laps)

3. Alvaro Mourato (Satria Neo) 24:50.014s (9 laps)

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2