Champions rule the MSS as Agusta makes history

Published on August 2nd, 2010

It was a day for the defending champions at the Malaysian Super Series in Sepang today, as Yasuhiro Kuhara and Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman swept their rivals away and scored double victories at Round 2 of the 1000cc Superbike and 600cc Supersports championships respectively.

As expected, Kuhara – a two-time Superbike champion – was in a class of his own, riding his Honda CBR1000 machine to comfortable victories in both races. It was his second double victory as he had two wins in Round 1.

Meanwhile, after the domination of the Idemitsu Honda Racing Team in Round 1, the PETRONAS Yamaha Racing Team came in full force for Round 4 as they put their top three ARRC riders – Azlan Mohd, Zamri Baba and Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin to join youngster Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah in the Supersports Championship.

Their efforts definitely paid off as Azlan and Zamri – both racing in the Superbike Championship in Round 1 on their private bikes – gave the team a sensational 1-2 in both races.

The two riders upstaged Idemitsu Honda Racing team riders which included Round 1 double winner Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat and the awesome trio from Thailand – Suhatchai Cheamsap, Apiwat Wongthananon and Ratthapong Walairot.

The competition is ever more heated, as SIC is offering a golden opportunity for the top three finishers in the Supersports Championship to be a part of the selection for wildcard riders in the Moto2 category in the 2011 Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

“I am happy that we managed to win. It was a team strategy and it does not matter which of us won the race,” said Azlan, who expressed hope to retain his title, adding that he, along with Zamri and Fuad would be doing the full season.

Zamri was equally enthusiastic, saying that he was pleased that they managed to beat their bitter rivals from Honda Racing.

“We aim to maintain our winning form in the next three races. We lost 50 points in Round 1 because we were not there. But, we still have the opportunity to do well in the overall championship,” said Zamri, who is also vying for the opportunity to enter the challenge for the Moto2 wildcard ticket.

Meanwhile, their Yamaha teammate, Hafizh Syahrin, who competed in the junior category managed to redeem himself in Race 2, after placing a disappointing fifth in Race 1. Hafizh was able to take full advantage when Walairot, who was the winner of Race 1, crashed in the penultimate lap of Race 2.

It was also a grand day for the newly-established Kajang Racing Team as their rider, Mohd Syahnas Shahidan, rode his MV Agusta machine to a double podium finish – taking second place in Race 1 and third in Race 2 in the Superbike Championship

“Indeed, this is a happy day for us. We’ve worked very hard, and there bike still requires a lot of work. I believe that we’ve made history today as the MV Agusta took the podium, not once, but twice. I am very happy and proud for the team,” said Syahnas – winner of the Supersports title in 2008.

When asked to explain the reason behind the team’s choice of bike, the 1000cc MV Agusta, a smiling Syahnas said: “We wanted to be different. The team is just a group of friends from Kajang who love motor racing and bikes. They decided to have a racing team and asked me to ride for them.

“We did not do too well in the opening round. But we took a double podium today, and that is a fantastic result indeed. We hope to do even better in the next round,” said Syahnas, a former Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) rider with the PETRONAS Yamaha Racing Team.

The team had also hosted a delegation from the Technical and Vocational Education Division, headed by director Ahmad Tajuddin Jab. The delegation was on a study tour to the Sepang International Circuit.

The Superstock Championship saw the repeat of Round 1 with Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin taking the opening race and his closest rival Remon Azrem Abdul Karim winning Race 2 as they both finished the round again tied with the same haul of 45 championship points.

Supersports (Senior) Championship

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Yamaha R6) 22:33.641s

2. Mohd Zamri Baba (Yamaha R6) 22:33.703s

3. Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Honda CBR600) 22:41.802s

4. Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin (Yamaha R6) 22:42.242s

5. Suhatchai Cheamsap (Honda CBR600) 22:42.529s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Yamaha R6) 22:43.022s

2. Mohd Zamri Baba (Yamaha R6) 22:44.839s

3. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda CBR600) 23:16.145s

4. Ahmad Faez Yahya (Kawasaki ZX6R) 23:24.171s

5. Mohd Erwan Tahir (Kawasaki ZX6R) 23:46.999s

Superbike Championship

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 22:49.564s

2. Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 23:04.305s

3. Omar Ali Abdullah (xxx) 23:58.397s

4. Milton Poh (Suzuki GSR1000) 24:03.625s

5. Syukran Qabouli (Honda CBR1000) 25:05.311s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 22:33.667s

2. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Honda CBR1000) 23:04.607s

3. Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 23:18.365s

4. Ahmad Azhar Hamid (Yamaha R1) 23:42.333s

5. Milton Poh (Suzuki GSR1000) 23:58.611s

Superstock Championship

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 23:01.865s

2. Remon Azrem Abd. Karim (Honda CBR1000) 23:04.305s

3. Dilip Rogger (KTM) 23:37.712s

4. Nasarudin Mat Yusop (Honda CBR1000) 23:37.829s

5. Mohd Firdaus Musa (Suzuki K9) 23:41.344s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1. Remon Azrem Abd. Karim (Honda CBR1000) 23:07.537s

2.Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 23:07.848s

3. Ibrisham Daud (Honda CBR1000) 23:39.623s

4. Mohd Firdaus Musa (Suzuki K9) 23:40.880s

5. Mohd Nur Zulkifli Zakaria (Honda CBR1000) 23:47.578s

text & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2