Petronas trio took 2010 BMW Sports Award

Published on December 10th, 2010

Barely a week after successfully taking their third consecutive Super Taikyu Endurance Series title, the trio of Nobuteru Taniguchi (JPN), Masataka Yanagida (JPN) and Malaysian Imran Shaharom were given recognition for their impressive form this season at the recent 2010 BMW Sports Award in Munich, Germany.

The team’s Japanese duo of Masataka Yanagida and Nobuteru Taniguchi got the 2010 campaign off to a strong start following their class win (A5 Petrol Class) and 2nd place overall at the 24Hours of Dubai in January. Joined by Malaysian rookie Imran Shaharom, the trio followed this up with the overall series title in the Japanese Super Taikyu Endurance Series ten months later.

Yanagida and Taniguchi’s impressive form was enough to earn the pair 367.64 points and joint second at the annual sports award by the German auto-manufacturer. Meanwhile, in recognition of his efforts in taking the 2010 Super Taikyu Endurance Series title, 22-year old Imran Shaharom also became the first Malaysian driver to make the BMW Sports Award rankings in 20th position with 291.50 points.

Imran Shaharom (MAS): “It has been a truly amazing season! Taking the overall crown at the 2010 Super Taikyu Endurance Series was a truly incredible experience for me and to be here in Munich to represent both the PETRONAS Syntium Team and Malaysia is amazing! I am extremely grateful to David Wong, the team management; our team partners PETRONAS for giving me this wonderful opportunity to be a part of a great team!”

The PETRONAS Syntium Team are no strangers to the awards after Malaysian Fariqe Hairuman became the first Malaysian award recipient in 2007 when he collected a special recognition award for becoming the youngest Asian and second youngest in the world to win a major touring car championship title (Asian Touring Car Championship) at the age of 24.

The awards were presented by BMW Motorsport Director Mario Theissen during the BMW Sports Trophy presentation in Munich on Saturday 4 December 2010.

Launched in the 1960s, the BMW Sports Trophy is the manufacturer’s efforts to provide additional incentive to customer team drivers with BMW sports cars. Drivers from anywhere in the world can enter the BMW Sports Trophy and score points with various BMW cars in numerous series across the globe. The list includes more than 30 series worldwide including the World Touring Car Championship, national touring car championships, 24-hour races and endurance races like the VLN and Super Taikyu. For more information visit the manufacturer’s website:

text & pix: PETMOS

PETRONAS Syntium Team 2010 Season

(Overall, award recipients highlighted)

Series Major Results

Super Taikyu Endurance Series (Japan)

  • Overall Champion

No. 1 BMW Z4M Coupe

(N. Taniguchi, M. Yanagida & I. Shaharom)

  • 2nd Overall

No. 28 BMW Z4 M Coupe

(Tatsuya Kataoka, Fariqe Hairuman & Melvin Moh)

24Hours of Dubai (UAE)

  • Class Champions (A5 Petrol Class)
  • 2nd Overall

No. 40 BMW Z4M Coupe

(F. Hairuman, M. Yanagida, N. Taniguchi, J. Stuck)

  • 3rd in Class (A5 Petrol Class)
  • 14th Overall

No. 41 BMW Z4M Coupe

(T. Kataoka, M. Oreedo, K. Matsuura, J. Adzmi, H. Yoshida)

12hours Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race (Malaysia)

  • 3rd Overall

No. 28 BMW Z4M Coupe

(N. Taniguchi, M. Yanagida & I.Shaharom)

2010 BMW Sports Trophy standings

Name Nat Car Points Achievements/race series
1 Göransson, Richard SE BMW 320si 474.00 1st place Swedish Touring Car Championship
2 Yanagida, Masataka JP BMW Z4 M Coupé 367.64 1st place Super Taikyu, 2nd place Dubai 24 Hours
Taniguchi, Nobuteru JP BMW Z4 M Coupé 367.64 1st place Super Taikyu, 2nd place Dubai 24 Hours
4 Biagi, Thomas IT BMW M3 367.50 1st place Superstars Series
5 Böhm, Alexander DE BMW 325i 349.20 Class victory Dubai 24 Hours, 6 VLN class victories
6 Zink, Hans-Christian CH BMW M3 345.00 1st place DMV Touring Car Championship
7 Ukhov, Mikhail RU BMW 320i 333.21 1st place Russian Touring Car Championship
8 Hernández, Sergio ES BMW 320si 321.67 1st place WTCC Independents’ Trophy
9 Kane, Steven GB BMW 320si 321.67 1 victory and 7 further podiums British Touring Car Championship
10 Espenlaub, Charles US BMW M3 318.00 1st place Grand-AM (GS class)
Putman, Charles US BMW M3 318.00 1st place Grand-AM (GS class)
12 Knechtges, Carsten


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2