Azlan takes double victory and blow open championship battle

Published on September 20th, 2010

Defending champion Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman kept alive his hopes of retaining the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) 600cc Supersports crown with an awesome performance at Round 3 in Sepang today; scoring a double victory for the second successive time this season.

Double winner in Round 2 in July, Azlan, who missed the opening round in April as his bike was not available at that time, took his total haul of championship points to 100 to close the gap on leader Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat with two more rounds to go.

Second in both races today, Suhadi – the 2009 Superstock champion and Malaysian motocross and cub prix former champion, added another 40 points to stay 10 points above Azlan Shah in the championship standings; with a total haul of 110 points.

Representing PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha Racing, Azlan said the championship battle was still an open affair to other riders as well including Thailand’s Suhatchai Chaemsap and even his team-mate Mohd Zamri Baba, who was missing from the round.

“There are still two more rounds; four more races and 100 more championship points to play. It’s still an open affair; but I am happy to win both races to close the gap on Suhadi,” said Azlan after the prize presentation ceremony.

Round 4 for the Supersports and the other bike championships would be held as support races at the 2010 Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix, which would be held at the circuit from October 8 to 10. Round 5 and final round would be held in November.

Thailand young sensation Rathapong Walairot – the younger brother of Moto2 rider Rathapark Walairot who upstaged Azlan and Suhadi in qualifying yesterday, topped the junior category; but could not equal the race pace of the two Malaysian riders.

In the Superbike Championship, defending champion Yasuhiro Kuhara also scored a double victory to add another 50 points to his total as he closed in to his third MSS title. The Japanese rider now has 145 points and looked strong to seal the crown at the Malaysian GP.

Locked with Ramon Azrem Abdul Karim at the top of the Superstock Championship with 90 points, Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin finally managed to open a gap in the championship battle as he took full advantage from his rival’s first DNF in the second race.

After losing to Ramon in Race 1, Ahmad Zamani eased to victory in Race 2 and take his haul of championship points to 140 points with two more rounds to go. Ramon is second with 115 points and now faces a mountain to climb to win the championship.


Race Results – Round 3 (Bikes)

Sepang Circuit (5.543km)

Supersports Championship (Senior Category)

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Yamaha R6) 22:40.725s

2. Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Honda CBR600) 22:15.780s

3. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda CBR600) 22:44.118s

4. Suhatchai Chaemsap (Honda CBR600) 22:45.116s

5. Mohd Emir Firdaus (Honda CBR600) 23:30.314s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Yamaha R6) 22:45.064s

2. Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Honda CBR600) 22:46.760s

3. Suhatchai Chaemsap (Honda CBR600) 22:50.286s

4. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda CBR600) 23:10.146s

5. Mohd Emir Firdaus (Honda CBR600) 23:32.536s

Superbike Championship

Race 1 – 10 laps

1.Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 22:40.033s

2. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Honda CBR1000) 22:56.294s

3. Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 22:56.449s

4. Che Zamri Hamid (Kawasaki) 22:57.662s

5. Milton Poh (xx

Race 2 – 10 laps

1.Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 23:06.588s

2. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Honda CBR1000) 23:13.639s

3. Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 23:21.660s

4. Che Zamri Hamid (Kawasaki) 24:21.665s

5. Milton Poh (Suzuki 1000) 24:28.317s

Superstock Championship

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Remon Azrem Abdul Karim (Honda CBR1000) 22:57.662s

2. Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 22:59.941s

3. Mohd Faizal Yahya (Honda CBR1000) 23:14.780s

4. Mark Lim Chung Han (MV Agusta) 23:14.780s

5. Norhisham Mohd (Ducati) 23:37.587s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 23:29.981s

2. Mohd Faizal Yahya (Honda CBR1000) 23:31.749s

3. Norhisham Mohd (Ducati) 23:52.056s

4. Mark Lim Chung Han (MV Agusta) 23:52.510s

5. Nasaruddin Mat Yusop (Honda CBR1000) 23:59.567s

Bikerz Hi-Rev Cup

Race 1 (6 laps)

1.Ahmad Azhar Hamid (Yamaha 125) 15:45.075s

2. Mohd Faizal Yahya (Kawasaki 150) 15:58.697s

3. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Yamaha RXZ) 16:18.502s

4. Mohd Hafieenaz Ali (Kawasaki 150) 16:28.254s

5. Mohd Fauzi Rosli (Kawasaki 150) 16:40.302s

Race 2 (6 laps)

1.Mohd Faizal Yahya (Kawasaki 150) 15:53.104s

2. Mohd Hafieenaz Ali (Kawasaki 150) 16:12.361s

3. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Yamaha RXZ) 16:27.658s

4. Mohd Fauzi Rosli (Kawasaki 150) 16:39.533s

5. Mohd Zulkarnain Abdul Rahman 16:39.739s

Classic Car Championship

Race 1 – 10 laps

1.Bertie McCrory (Lotus 7) 24:44.613s

2. Daniel Biski (Porsche 911) 24:47.404s

3. Michael Ricks (TVR 500s) 25:30.035s

4. Jeffrey Moo (Honda CRX) 26:39.197s

5. Paul Winkelmann (Jaguar E Type) 26:51.934s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Bertie McCrory(Lotus 7) 25:05.260s

2. Michael Ricks (TVR5000S) 25:08.279s

3. Daniel Biski (Porsche 911) 25:12.901s

4. Paul Winkelmann (Jaguar E Type) 26:54.582s

5. Ian Geekie (Datsun 240Z GT) 27:23.996s

Malaysian GT Championship – Round 3

Race 1 (10 laps)

1.Mok Weng Sun (Porsche 997 GT3) 21:49.018s

2. Jeffrey Lee (Porsche 997 GT3) 22:49.696s

3. Dilantha Malagamuwa (Porsche 997 GT3) 23:19.521s

Race 2 (10 laps)

1.Mok Weng Sun (Porsche 997 GT3) 21:55.204s

2. Dilantha Malagamuwa (Porsche 997 GT3) 23:15.029s

3. Jeffrey Lee (Porsche 997 GT3) 23:15.853s

words: SIC pix: Syafril & Two Wheel Garage


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2