Australians confident ahead of Sepang 12 hour

Published on August 6th, 2010

Bathurst international racing driver Mike Reedy, will this weekend compete in the annual Merdeka Millennium 12 hour Endurance Race at the Sepang circuit in Malaysia.

Reedy will be driving a Mosler MT 900 GT car with its owner Andrew McPherson and Australian GT Champion David Wall, and their among favourites to win outright along with a second all Australian entry a Porsche for Tony Quinn, Klark Quinn & Paul Weel.

The race has attracted a high quality field with Le Man 24 hour winners, Formula One drivers past & present and the best of the best Asia has to offer.

Standing between the Australian AMAK Racing Team and victory this weekend in the Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race (MMER) in Malaysia, are world class competitors including former Formula one drivers, Le Mans winners, another top line Australian team and the best Asia has to offer.

Bathurst’s Mike Reedy will drive a Mosler MT900 with car owner Andrew McPherson and Australian GT champion David Wall in the 12 hour race at the Sepang circuit from August 5 to 8, in the 11th edition of the MMER.

However, a much sought after race driver instructor, and an accomplished international racer who along with Russell Ingall and Neil Cunningham won the 1992 Formula Ford World Cup of Motorsport for Australia at Brands Hatch, Reedy is optimistic the Aussie team can put in a bold showing.

“The Mosler is a fast car and is suited to the Sepang circuit. AMAC are a great team and under the direction of crew chief Steve Bugatto and race engineer Ray Richards have an excellent understanding of the Mosler, with many kilometers of testing and development completed over the past six months,” said Reedy.

“12 hours of racing in very hot conditions with world class competitors is a great challenge, I am very much looking forward to that challenge.”

“We will be fast, but at the same time must run our own race and always remember we want to complete the 12 hours. If we can do that we will achieve a strong result,” Reedy concluded.

One of the Amak teams toughest opponents will be another all Australian entry, with the VIP Petfoods Racing Team featuring drivers Tony Quinn, his son Klark Quinn and former V8 Supercar racer Paul Weel in a Porsche 997 RSR.

On paper, the Audi Race Experience Team Joest with two former Le Mans 24-Hours winners Frank Beila and Marco Werner with 2008 overall champion and former Porsche Carrera Cup Asia champion Daryl O’ Young look favourites in their Audi R8 LMS

Top line Sri Lankan driver Dilantha Malagamuwa, a two-time Malaysian Super Series (MSS) champion and a regular at Sepang Circuit, will have Japan Super GT driver Kota Sasaki as one of his co-drivers in his newly-bought Lamborghini LP560, which performed so well at its first test during a round of the Malaysian GT Series.

Malaysian former F1 driver Alex Yoong, a class winner last year will be chasing outright honour in 2010 with the Hong Kong based KK Performance Team in a Lamborghini LP560 with former Porsche Carrera Cup Asia driver Matthew Marsh.

Mok Weng Sun finished third last year, and in 2010 is driving aPorsche 997 Cup S Porsche Club for Singapore Racing, and is after the top post on the podium this time round. The Singapore driver will have the services of Porsche factory driver Richard Lietz and two time Australian Carrera Cup Australia champion and Toll HRT V8 Supercar endurance driver Craig Baird.

Another vastly experienced team is in the Arrows Racing Lamborghini LP560, with leading Malaysian driver and 2002 overall winner Tunku Hammam Sulong, being partnered by former Le Mans winner Peter Kox and FIA GT3 European champion Christopher Haase.

Returning again from Japan is the PETRONAS Syntium Team with a pair of BMW Z4M Coupe’s, Tatsuya Kataoka, Farique Hairuman and Melvin Moh in the #1 car, and Nobuteru Taniguchi, Masataka Managida and Imran Zaharias Shaharom in the #28.

The Sports Production Class will have Lotus Racing test and spare driver Fairuz Fauzy in action with his brother and 2004 overall winner Farriz in an Aston Martin. Former German F3 driver Rizal Ramli is the third driver.

Heading the new-look MMER classic, is the GT Class which most of the contenders are entered in with GT2, GT3 and Cup cars, and Sports Production Class which will feature the GT4 and FIA Group B cars with diesel engine above 1900cc.

There is also the Touring Production class for over 1900cc Group N cars under FIA Article 254; the over 1900cc Group A cars under FIA Article 255; the above 1900cc non FIA homologated cars and the above 1900cc touring and saloon cars with diesel engines.

words & pix: SIC


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2