ATCS Round 4: Mak claims a close fought Round 4 win

Published on June 27th, 2010

Mak Ka Lok took the win in a hard fought Round 4 race during the Asian Touring Car Series at the Sepang International Circuit today. The RPM Racing Team driver completed the race in less than 25 minutes beating out Charles Ng and Championship Leader Lui Man Kit to the finish line.

It was a reverse grid order for round 3’s top six finishers leaving Lui to start in pole followed by Cheung Chi Sing, Danny Stacy Chau, Mak Ka Lok, Charles Ng and Liu Lic Ka. But for Danny Chau, his race ended even before it started when, as he was heading to the grid, his bonnet flew open breaking his windscreen.

“It was just one of those things that happens. You can’t win all the time,” said the smiling Team IMSP driver.

His teammate and 2009 Championship winner, Cheung Chi Sing had a gearbox problem that the team worked feverishly on right to the grid line-up, leaving him to start from the pit-exit. The gearbox did not hold up for the duration of the race and at the end of lap 5 it started leaking leaving a plume of white smoke trailing behind him as he dived into the pitlane ending his race.


Mak and Ng once again provided maximum entertainment throughout the 10 lap race and despite the repeated tries from the younger driver, Mak managed to maintain his lead to claim his first race win of the season.

“I am very happy with the race today. I finally managed to get first place! This round I managed a pretty good start. I maintained my position and followed Liu Lic Ka, who already made his way to the lead. Then two laps into the race, he had a spin and I managed to move past him to take the race lead. From there, Charles caught up to me and really gave me a lot of pressure all the way to the end of the race,” said the very happy Macau driver.

For Ng, the race weekend ended well, having collected his second podium finish and a further 12 points for the driver championship and also for his team.

A visibly tired but smiling Ng said after the podium ceremony, “Second place podium again and I have no complaints. This time I managed a really good start and I didn’t fall behind. From the start there was a four way battle for the lead. That was a really exciting three to four laps, until Liu spun at the last corner and the three of us took full advantage of that and we then battled each other. I am happy with the results and it was a good race. I am definitely looking forward to the next race and it can only get more exciting from here,” Ng ended.


For current Championship leader, Lui Man Kit, the race started quite easily for him when two spots on the grid ahead of him were empty from the absence of Danny Chau and Cheung. Lui joined the race leaders for the close battle.

“The race today was quite easy for me because the second and third placed guys on the grid were not there so it was easy for me to launch my car off the line. On the third lap, Liu made a mistake and spun the car. After that I looked in the rearview mirror and saw that he was quite far behind and could not catch up to me so I kept my pace. It was a good race and I am very happy with the results,” smiled Lui.

Liu Lic Ka’s change of settings for the suspension did not work out too well for him towards the middle of the race. The Macau driver had a fantastic start taking third by the first turn and by the end of the opening lap at turn 15, he took two cars from the inside to snatch the race lead. But he spun twice during the race and although he recovered both times he was unable to catch up to the leading cars and finished the race in tenth.

The Asian Touring Car Series will return to the Malaysian circuit for Rounds 5 & 6 on 16-18 July 2010 during the Malaysian Super Series.

ATCS Round 4
Top 5 Finishers
Comp     Name                          Team                                  Time               Make/Model
4               Mak Ka Lok                RPM Racing Team          25:59.2            Honda Integra DC5
84            Charles Ng                  G.Harry Racing Team    25:02.3            Honda Integra DC5
21            Lui Man Kit                 RPM Racing Team          25:21.8            Honda Integra DC5
99            Kuok Io Keong           RPM Racing Team          26:27.7            Honda Integra DC5
30            Man Ting Yu              Team IMSP                        26:33.9            Honda Integra FD2

text: Motorsport Asia  pix: Al – Mu Syahrisyawal Ahmad & Jerry Ch’ng


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2