Asian Classic Car Challenge Sets for Explosive Finish in Sepang

Published on November 29th, 2012

After five exhilarating rounds and 10 thrilling races, the inaugural Asian Classic Car Challenge (ACCC) series enters its final round next weekend at Sepang International Circuit (SIC) with the battle for the overall crown and the premier open class title still opened for grabs.

Incorporated as one of the support races at next weekend’s Sepang 1000-Kilometer (S1K) race, Round 6 of the ACCC, which features drivers from various backgrounds from petro-heads, veteran drivers, former champions to rookies learning the trade, promises another explosive affair and an exciting conclusion to the race.

“It will be an extremely important final two races for the series. It will be an explosive affair,” says series spokesman Daniel Bilski of Classic Car Club of Hong Kong Ltd – promoter and organizer of the ACCC, a new series which was rebranded from the old Hong Kong Classic Car Challenge.

“Naturally, we are proud to be associated with the prestigious S1K event, which is one of the key events organized by SIC every year in its efforts to promote motorsports in the region,” he said, adding that the ACCC was also a support race for the 12-hour Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race (MMER) in August.

To be held from December 8 to 10, the S1K, which is celebrating its fourth edition this year after its separation from MMER in 2009, would also be featuring the single-seater Formula Pilota series as the other support race.

Bilski, who currently leads the open class with 79 points, pointed out that nothing can be taken for granted and that he would need to be at his best to keep the top spot at the conclusion of the two races next weekend.

“For Class O, all three final positions are open and will be decided on the final race weekend. With the ever changing fortunes of drivers this season, nothing can be taken for granted in Class O,” said Bilski, who carries an 11-point advantage over Bertie McCrory, who has 68 points. Paul Wilkermann is third in the class with 61 points after five rounds.

Despite their current scores and standings, the race regulations allow driver to drop off the worst two results; making the current standings as preliminary unless for those who were scoreless in any other the previous rounds this season.

In Class A, Iain Mackenzie has secured an unassailable lead for the Class A with a total haul of 96 points; crowning him as the maiden winner of the ACCC. With 55 points, lady driver Nurul Husna, who is making her debut in the series this season, has secured second in the class.

“This is indeed a great achievement for Nurul and we at the series are indeed very happy for her. Third place in the class, however, is still up for grabs,” said Bilski in reference to the battle between Saiful Anuar and Firdaus Musa.

With a total haul of 97 points before the drop-off, Matthew Smith looked certain to defend the Class B title, which he won under the old HKCCC series. Ian Geekie, who is second in the class with 65 points, mathematically could still deny Smith; but would be depending on too much for other results to work in his favour.

“In Class C, Kelvin Davies has again secured the Class win, with P2 looking safe in the hands of our recent Formula Gulf Graduate, Rahul Raj Meyer, who can’t race in the final Round due to Formula Gulf commitments. The battle for third position for the class, however, is very much still open … similarly, with the contest for the overall title,” added Bilski.

Overall winner last season, Smith would be spurred by the drive to win back-to-back open titles. With 17 points over second placed Kelvin, who is on 80 points, Smith looks to be on course to be crowned as the first overall champion of the ACCC. But, as reflected by its name, there’s always the classic cliché in motorsports that says ‘anything can happen in motor racing’.


Point Standings After 5 Rounds

Top 3 – All Points Before Drop-off deductions

Class A – Cars less than 1,800cc per 1,000kg

1.Ian McKenzie (British Leyland Mini) 96 pts

2. Nurul Husna (Honda Civic EP3) 55 pts

3. Sharul Hisham (Toyota Levin AE86) 22 pts

Class B – Cars betwwn 1,800cc to 2,700cc) per 1,000kg

1.Matthew Smith (BMW528i) 97 pts

2. Ian Geekie (Datsun 260 Z GT) 65 pts

3. Miroljub Stojanovic (BMW E30 M3) 51 pts

Class C – Cars with non-original engines

1.Kelvin Davies (Silvia Phoenix) 80 pts

2. Rahul Raj Meyer (Toyota Starlet) 53 pts

3. Lai Buan Chuang (Honda CRX) 36 pts

Class O – Cars over 2,700cc per 1,000kg)

1.Daniel Bilski (Porsche 911 IROC RSR) 79 pts

2. Bertie McCrory (Lotus 7) 68 pts

3. Paul Wilkermann (TVR 5000M) 61 pts

Overall Championship

1.Matthew Smith (BMW528i) 97 pts

2. Kelvin Davies (Siliva Pheonix) 80 pts

3. Daniel Bilski (Porsche 911 IROC RSR) 79 pts


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2