Published on October 9th, 2012

Team ST Wangan’s Akina Teo pinched victory from Team Type-R Racing’s Boy Wong at the last lap of the final heat in Race Cars (Class 1) category at Round 6 of Saturday Night Fever Challenge Series 2012 (SNF). Current series leader in Race Cars (Class 1), Akina pilots a 2-litre Honda Civic EK and was threatened by the imminent return of the very quick Boy Wong to SNF in a similar machine, after missing the past 3 rounds.

In the preliminary heats Akina, Boy Wong, and Ayyavu Jr Racing Team’s Kesavamoorthy (Honda Integra DC5 Type-R) battled tooth-and-nail as they jostled for track position that would dictate their Final heat starting spots. The dogfighting was close, intense, and unabated from Green light till chequered flag and hinted at an explosive final heat race.

Into the Sepang’s Turn 1 in the final, Boy Wong got stayed down the inside of Akina to take the lead. The next 4 laps were a master-class of race-craft by these three top drivers, as Boy skillfully held Akina back whilst Kesavamoorthy took opportunistic stabs at Akina. Into Turn 4 for the last time and Akina ducked under Boy on the exit to take the lead through the last 3 corners and to the chequered flag, the three separated by only a second across the line.

“I was always quicker in the fast turns 5 and 6, but could not make a move without risking contact,” said Akina after the race. He adds, “I had to make that dive in the last lap work for me, and I’m very glad it did!”

In the SuperStreet category, for the first time this year N1 Racing Team’s Desmond Yee did not make the final when his Honda Civic FD2 Type-R’s engine blew just as he took the chequered flag for heat 2. This handed newcomer Suhaimi Shukor (GME Racing) the opportunity to take a rookie win, which he locked in with his lap-3 pass on early leader Badrul Hisham (N1 Racing Team, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8).

Logesvaran Kaliaperumal took a sweet win with his Perodua Kancil Turbo in the Special Kei category after being disqualified from the previous round and a broken gearbox earlier in the afternoon. “Just six hours ago, I didn’t even know if I was going to start the race, what more win! I wholeheartedly thank my team for their gallant effort to strip-down and replace the part at the eleventh hour,” exclaimed a jubilant Logesvaran.

Expect full grids and fierce racing in the final two rounds of the year as championship positions are tight in most categories. Next round of Saturday Night Fever is 10th November 2012, with the final on 15th December 2012.

Full race results and the latest updates are available on SNF


Mini Classic

Syafiq Ali Mini Cooper 7:13.977

Hairani Arifin  Mini Clubman 7:39.811

Mohd Hamdan Arifin  Mini 759.969


Aril Hamka Starlet EP82 6:52.483

Ahmad Ezani Mohd Ishak Starlet EP71  7:11.002

Ahmad Shariffuddin Mat Ariffin  Starlet EP82  7:58.506

Special Kei

Logesvaran Kaliaperumal Kancil Turbo 6:58.410

Syazril Amri Abdul Rahman Kancil Turbo  6:58.562

Muhd Tarmizi Abdul Aziz Kancil Turbo  7:06.360

Campro Chase

Raj @ Michael Ayyavu Satria Neo 7:08.415

Halim Othman Proton Waja 7:14.287

Ifwat Ataa Abd Razak Satria Neo 7:14.707

Race Cars Class 1

Akina Teo Civic EK9 6:18.283

Boy Wong Yew Choong Civic EK9  6:18.870

Kesavamoorthy Ayyavu Integra DC5  6:19.230

Race Cars Class 2

Winson Eu Tuck Meng Civic EK9 6:42.072

Aun Yue Wei Civic EK9 6:50.227

Lee Kum Soon Civic EK9  6:52.317


Suhaimmi Shukor Integra Type-R 6:40.094

Badrul Hisham Abd Rahim  Lancer EVO 8MR  6:41.063

Muhd Havy Zolkifli Nissan Skyline R35 6:55.312

Street 1.8 NA

Gan Kim Koa Civic EK4 6:57.999

Mohd Noor Fairuz  Satria 1.8  6:58.671

Mohd Nasrul Azizi Nasaruddin  Satria GTI 7:07.183

Street 1.8 VTEC / Turbo

Ahmad Firdaus Azman Civic EF9 6:29.122

Philip Tang Peng Ngiap Civic EF9 6:39.749

Ahmad Fauzi Latib Civic EK9  6:41.623

words & pix: SNF


Comment guidelines, edit this message in your Wordpress admin panel

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php:2) in /home/trafficm/public_html/wp-content/themes/magzimus/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2